Calculate Child Support Amounts
How to Request a Review and Links to Forms to Compute Support Amounts?
Under Federal and State law, you have the right to ask the Office of Recovery Services (ORS) to review your child support order. The review may result in a change to the child support amount. If the amount changes, it may go up or it may go down.
By completing the appropriate pre-review worksheets, you will have a general idea how much your child support will go up or down.
ORS is unable to help you complete these pre-review forms. If you have questions or need help in completing the forms, you may wish to contact a private attorney. The laws governing child support can be found in Utah Code Annotated 78-45-1 through 78-45-7.21.
Upon written request, ORS will review your order to decide if that amount of child support needs to be changed. ORS will request that the child support award be modified if:
- the new award is at least 10% higheror lower than the current award; and
- the order is at least 3 years old; or,
- if it has been less than 3 years since the order was issued, modified, or reviewed and you provide proof that a substantial change in circumstances has occurred; and
- the new award is at least 15% higher or lower than the current award.
ORS will not adjust your order:
- if the youngest child will be 18 years old within one year;
- if the non-requsting parent cannot be located; or
- for other issues, such as visitation or custody.
If your order does not require a parent to have insurance for medical expenses for the child(ren), ORS may request that the order be modified to require a parent to get insurance, if it is available at a reasonable cost.
ORS may be assisted by attorneys from the Utah Attorney General's Office. They are the State's attorneys. They represent the State and are not personal attorneys for either parent.
Utah law requires the use of both parents' incomes to determine a child support amount. The income the support is based upon is limited to the equivalent of one full-time job. Generally, overtime and additional part-time jobs are not included. Case assistance, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), and Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), are not considered as income. Pensions, Social Security Benefits, Workman's Compensation, and Disability Insurance benefits are considered income.
Once ORS receives a written request to review your order and the case qualifies for a review, both parents will receive a Financial Statement to complete and return. Along with the completed statement, you will also be required to provide verification of your yearly gross income.
If you request a review and later want tot stop the review, we must receive a written request from both parents to stop the review.
To calculate support amounts, you will need to use the appropriate worksheets and tables below.
INSTRUCTIONS AND LINKS TO FORMS
NEW - Child Support Calculator - Automatically calculates child support amounts provided income amounts are accurate.
1. Determine which worksheets are appropriate to your custody situation. (The Sole Custody Worksheet is used when the court order gives custody of the child(ren) to one parent, the Joint Custody Worksheet is used when the parents have joint custody, and the Split Custody Worksheet is used when parents have split custody. Note: If your court order gave custody of the child to one parent and now the child lives with the other parent and you have not gone back to court to change the custody in the order, ORS must use the worksheet showing the child living with the parent stated in the order.)
To read and/or print the following, click on the blue underlined phrases.
Note: in all situations, you will need the Base Combined Child Support Obligation Table and Low Income Table - Utah Code 78-45-7.14.
- Child Support Obligation Worksheet-Sole Custody and Paternity
- Joint Physical Custody Worksheet
- Split Custody Worksheet
2. Worksheet to Determine Father's Obligation to Children in His Present Home and Worksheet to Determine Mothers Obligation to Children in Her Present Home.
If the mother's or father's "present home" worksheet was used when our order was originally established or last modified, you may use the same number of children listed on the original father's or mother's worksheet if the mother or father is still supporting the adopted or natural children from his/her present marriage. Step children are not included on the mother's or father's worksheet. If either parent has new natural or adopted children (since the date of order or last modification), the children may be used on this worksheet to keep the child support award from going up. You may not use new natural or adopted children on this worksheet to make the child support award go down.
When using this worksheet, you must use the other parent's income to receive the credit. The father's or mother's share of the child support obligation to the children in his/her present family (Line 12), is entered on line 2d of the Sole Custody Worksheet. This amount is subtracted from his/her gross income, reducing that parent's child support obligation.
3. Read and print Insurance premium and child care adjustment worksheet.